Manual Audiences

Prev Next

A Manual Audience is an Audience that allows you to control the membership by giving you the option to choose which users can be added to an Audience. The membership of an Audience is managed by you, which allows greater control over who is in an Audience and who isn’t.

The only caveat to this is that the user must be in the Structure that the Audience has been created in to be able to be added to a Manual Audience, as the Structure rules still apply to the Audience.

To access your audiences, go to Manage in the Thrive menu. You'll land on the Structures screen, which shows all your structures at a glance.

Overview of structures with audience and membership details highlighted in the management interface.

Creating a Manual Audience

  1. Go to Manage in the Thrive menu.

  2. Open Structures & Audiences.

  3. Select the Structure you want to add the Audience to.

  4. Go to the Audiences tab.

  5. Click + Create audience.

  6. In the Audience Name field, enter a name.

  7. Under Audience Type, select Manual Audience.

  8. Click Review Audience.

  9. Once reviewed, click Create Audience.

User interface for creating an audience with highlighted options and instructions.

The Manual Audience will now be created, and you can select which users you want to add to the Audience. If you want the Audience to be populated based on certain user profile fields, then a Smart Audience would be better suited to your needs. You can find more information on how to create a Smart Audience in this guide.

Adding Users to a Manual Audience

Users can be added to a Manual Audience in two ways: the first is by manually adding the users, and the second is via a CSV upload. This Guide explains how to add users via a CSV upload.

Manually adding users to a Manual Audience

  1. Open the Manual Audience you want to add your users to.

  2. Click + Add Members.

  3. Search for the user you want to add to the Audience and tick the box next to their name.

  4. Once you have selected all the users you are adding, click Add members.

Note:

You can turn the Show selected toggle on to show all the users that you are about to add to the Manual Audience before you click the Add members button

Bulk Assignment of Skills to Users

A Manual Audience is the only audience currently that can be utilised to Assign Skills to users in bulk. This Guide explains how to do this.

Content Visibility and Sharing

These settings allow you to control who can share Content to the Audience. There are three options available to control who can share Content with the Audience. If a user does not have access to share with the Audience, then when they click on the Share button, the Audience will not be visible to them when searching for Audiences to share with.

Content visibility terms

  • Everyone - this allows any user to share Content with the Audience.

  • Admins - only Super Admins and Learning Admins will be able to share Content with the Audience. If an Audience Manager is not a Super Admin or Learning Admin, they will not be able to share Content with the Audience if this setting is enabled.

  • Only members - this limits the ability to share Content to this Audience to users who are members of the Audience. If this is selected, Admin users who are not members of the Audience will still be able to share Content with the Audience.

Default content privacy

The Default privacy settings are how the privacy settings will be set on any newly created Content items when the Content item is shared with the Audience as part of the creation of the Content item.